1 Amend 2 Cal. Code Regs., Section 18427.1 to read:

2

§ 18427.1. Notification to Contributors of Filing Obligations

- 3 (a) A candidate or committee that receives contributions cumulating \$5,000 or more in a
- 4 calendar year from any person shall, within two weeks of receiving such contributions, provide
- 5 notice to the contributor that the contributor may be required to file campaign reports. A
- 6 candidate or committee that receives contributions cumulating \$ 10,000 or more from any person
- 7 during any period in which late contribution reports are required to be filed pursuant to Section
- 8 84203 shall within one week of receiving such contribution, provide notice to the contributor that
- 9 the contributor may be required to file campaign reports.
- 10 (b) The notice shall contain the following language or substantially similar language:
- 11 Major Donors: If your contribution(s) to this committee and to other California state or local
- committees total(s) \$ 10,000 or more in a calendar year, California law requires you to file a
- 13 Major Donor Committee Campaign Statement (Form 461). The deadline and location for filing
- this statement will depend upon the timing and type of contribution(s) you have made. For
- 15 additional information visit www.fppc.ca.gov and review the available campaign materials.
- Nonprofit Groups: If your organization is a nonprofit organization, it may qualify as a major
- donor committee required to file Form 461 or as a recipient committee required to file the Form
- 460 disclosing donors. Refer to Government Code Section 84222 and FPPC Regulation 18422 to
- determine your filing requirements. For additional information visit www.fppc.ca.gov and
- 20 review the available campaign materials.
- 24-Hour Reports: Major donors, nonprofits and other multipurpose organizations that trigger
- reporting obligations must also file a 24-hour contribution report if you they make contributions

12/30/15 1 18427.1 Amend

- totaling \$1,000 or more to a single candidate, any of the candidate's controlled committees, or to
- 2 a committee primarily formed to support or oppose a candidate or ballot measure during the 90
- 3 days before the election 90 days prior to the election, or on the date of the election, in which the
- 4 candidate or ballot measure is being voted on. The 24-hour reports are also required if they or
- 5 make contributions totaling \$1,000 or more to state or county political party committees during
- 6 the 90 days prior to a state election, or on the date of the election, including state special
- 7 elections.
- 8 Electronic Filing: State committees that make contributions of \$ 25,000 or more must file
- 9 electronically with the Secretary of State. State committees that are required to file the Form
- Form 497 24-hour contribution report must file this form electronically even if the \$25,000
- threshold has not yet been met. For more information on the electronic filing requirements,
- 12 contact the Secretary of State's office at (916) 653-6224. Local committees should contact the
- local jurisdiction to determine if there are electronic filing requirements.
- Failure to file campaign statements may result in late filing penalties (\$ 10/day) and fines (up
- to \$5,000/violation). For assistance with your filing obligations, contact the Fair Political
- Practices Commission toll-free at (866) ASK-FPPC, send an email to advice@fppc.ca.gov, or
- 17 refer to their website: www.fppc.ca.gov.
- (c) Candidates and treasurers shall maintain a record of all notices sent pursuant to this
- section, containing the date of each notice and the name and address of the person to whom each
- 20 notice is sent.
- 21 (d) Notice to a contributor is not required if:

12/30/15 2 18427.1 Amend

- 1 (1) A notice has previously been sent to the contributor pursuant to this section in the same
- 2 calendar year; or
- 3 (2) The contributor has been issued a recipient committee identification number by the
- 4 Secretary of State.
- 5 Note: Authority cited: Section 83112, Government Code. Reference: Sections 84105 and 84222,
- 6 Government Code