California
Fair Political
Practices Commission

February 28, 1991

John L. Hollis
3600 Ganado Way
Modesto, CA 95356

Re: Your Request for Advice
Our File No. A-91-079

Dear Mr. Hollis:

You have requested advice concernin? the campaign provisions
of the Political Reform Act (the "Act").

QUESTION

May the Fair Political Practices Commission waive a fine
imposed by a local filing officer?

CONCLUSION

The Act provides that no waiver may be granted if a campaign
reporting statement is not filed within 10 days after the filer
receives specific written notice of the requirement to file.

FACTS
In November 1989, you were elected trustee to the Modesto

City Schools, after which you terminated your campaign committee.
After missing the July 31, 1990, filing deadline for the reporting

period January 1 - June 30, 1990, you were notified in writing by
the Stanislaus County Clerk-Recorder that a campaign reporting
statement was due. For personal reasons, you did not respond to _

the notice within the required 10 days. However, you did file
your campaign reporting statement 13 days after receiving the
County’s notice.

On February 6, 1991, the Stanislaus County Recorder’s office
confirmed that you are compensated $100 or more per calendar month
for your elected office.

1 Government Code Sections 8§1000-91015. All statutory

references are to the Government Code unless otherwise indicated.

Commission regulations appear at 2 California Code of Regulations

Section 18000, et seq. All references to regulations are to Title
2, Division 6 of the California Code of Regulations.
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ANALYSTS

Elected officers whose salaries are $100 or more per month
are required to file a semiannual statement each year no later
than July 31 for the period January 1 through June 30. (Section
84200.) Another semiannual statement is due by January 31 of each
year for the reporting period July 1 through December 31.2
Elected officers who will not receive contributions or make
expenditures totaling $1,000 or more during a calendar year may
satisfy these filing requirements by filing a Candidate and
Officeholder Campaign Statement -~ Short Form (Form 470) no later
than July 31 for the entire calendar year. (Section 84206.)

When a filer does not meet the deadline for filing a campaign
statement, he- or she becomes liable in the amount of $10 per day -
after the deadline until the statement is filed. (Section 91013.)
The amount of the liability may not exceed the cumulative amount
stated in the late statement, or $100, whichever is greater.
(Secticn 91013 (c).)

At the discretion of the filing officer, the liability for a
late statement may be waived, provided that the statement is filed
within 10 days of the filer’s receipt of specific written
notification from the filing officer of the filing requirement.
(Section 91013.)

The Act does not provide authority for a filing officer or
the Commission to waive any fines for statements filed more than
10 days after the receipt by the filer of specific written
notification of the filing reguirement.

If you have additional questions, please contact me at (916)
322-5662.

Sincerely,
Scott Hallabrin .

Acting, G ‘ sel '
C Ao %/ T
by: vin SY Bfaaten-Moen

__Political Reform Consultant

cc: Karen Mathews
Stanislaus County Clerk-Recorder

2 During a six-month period in which the elected officer is

being voted upon, additional statements are required to be filed.
(Section 84200.5.)



JOHN L. HOLL: {
3600 GANADO W2 =
MODESTO, CA 953
209/521-1093

Attn: Technical Assistance

I am a trustee for Modesto City Schools, : . LowW key position
politically. I have never hired a campaign manager or treasurer.
211 efforts on my campaign have been voluntary.

After the Nov. 1989 election, I terminated my committee. I do
not plan any further activity on my campaign until 1993, and then
only if I choose to run for reelection.

I missed the semi-annual campaign disclosure statement for Jan.
1, 1990 through June 30, 1990 filing date because I was not aware
ahead of time that I needed to file this form since there was no
committee or activity. My treasurer had moved out of state and I
thought all forms were complete. Stanislaus County used to send
out forms to be completed and returned. With budget constraints,
the county no longer does this. When I did get notice that this
form had to be completed, we were out of town a great deal as my
wife's father was dying of cancer. This consumed all our time
and effort. He did die in November.

Because I did not file within the ten day period, the county is
assessing me $100. They say they can not waive the penalty, only
the FPPC can do that. My appeal is that this penalty be waived
for a statement that had no activity and not even an active
committee. The statement was received by the county only three
(3) days past the dgrace period. I would appreciate your
consideration of this matter.

Best regards,

John L. Ho



=~ OFFICE OF -

COUNTY CLERK-RECORDE

Telephone 209-525-6313

912-11th Street,
Room 100
Modesto, Ca. 95354

KAREN L. MATHEWS. Clerk-Recorder

September 11, 1990

Mr. Jehn Hollis
3600 Ganado Way
Modesto CA 95356

RE: FPPC Campaign Disclosure Penalty

Dear Mr. Hollis,

According to our records, your campaign disclosure statement was
due on July 31, 1980, The statement was not filed until
September 7, 1990, despite our letter dated August 22, 1990 urging

that you file within 10 days.

Government Code Section 91013 imposes a $10 a day fine after the
filing deadline until the statement is filed. The liability is limited
to the cumulative amount of the contributions or expenditures for
the period covered by the late statement or $100, whichever is
greater, Furthermore, the filing officer is prohibited by law from
waiving any portion of the liability if the statement is not filed
within 10 days after the filing officer sends you specific written

notice of the filing requirements.

Therefore, please remit to the Stanislaus County Clerk at 912-
11th Street, Room 100, Modesto, CA 95354, your check or money

order in the amount of $100.

Additionally, the form filed (Short Form) is inappropriate. Any
officeholder who has a committee must use a Form 490 (Long Form)
until the commitiee is terminated. Please amend your reporl using

the attached forms.

Sincerely,

Karen L. Mathews
County Clerk-Recorder
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