Behested Payment Reporting

Legislative Proposal

Current Process

for reporting behested payments

Step 1: Elected officers and members of the Public Utilities Commission (PUC) must file behested payment reports with their agency

- Reporting trigger: Behested payments reach \$5,000 or more in the aggregate from the same source in the same calendar year
- Deadline: Within 30 days of reaching the \$5,000 threshold
- Subsequent reporting: After the initial report is filed, subsequent reports must be filed for every additional behested payment made by the same source in the same calendar year within 30 days of each payment

Step 2: A state agency must forward a copy of the report to the FPPC, and a local agency must forward a copy of the report to the local filing officer

Deadline: Within 30 days of receipt of a report





Electronically on the FPPC website

Current Options

for submitting reports to the FPPC



Hardcopy to the FPPC (mail, fax, or in person)



Emailed copy to the FPPC

Behested Payment	Report A Public D	ocument	Behested Payment Repor	
1. Elected Officer or CPUC Member (Last name, First name)		Date Stamp	California 803 Form For Official Use Only	
Agency Name			, and a second	
Agency Street Address				
Designated Contact Person (Name and title, if different)		☐ Amendment (See Pa	Amendment (See Part 5)	
Area Code/Phone Number		Date of Original Filing:	(month, day, year)	
2. Payor Information (F	or additional payors, include an attachment with the i	names and addresses.)		
Name				
Address	City	State	Zip Code	
Name	or additional payees, include an attachment with the	numee and addresses.		
Address	City	State	Zip Code	
I. Payment Information	Complete all information 1			
Date of Payment:	Amount of Payment Monetary Donation or I	(Round to whole		
Brief Description of In	-Kind Payment:			
Purpose: (Check one and pr	ovide description below.) Legislative	☐ Governmental ☐ Cha	aritable	
Describe the legislativ	e, governmental, chartable purpose, or	event.		
5. Amendment Descri	ption and/or Comments			
25				
-				
6. Verification				
I certify, under penalty of p herein is true and complet	erjury under the laws of the State of California, e.	that to the best of my knowledge, t	the information contained	
Executed on	DATE By	SIGNATURE OF ELECTED OFFICER OR CPI	IC NENDED	
	DATE			
			FPPC Form 803 (January/201 866/ASK-FPPC (866/275-377	

Benefits of mandatory electronic filing for elected state officers and PUC members

1. Ease of use for filer

2. Increased efficiency

3. Faster public access

Proposed statutory changes

1. Mandatory e-filing directly with the FPPC

 Require elected state officers and PUC members to electronically file directly with the FPPC, instead of with their agency, within 30 days of reaching the behested payment threshold

2. Direct filing with filing officer + authorize e-filing

- Require persons holding non-state elective offices, including regional, county, municipal, district, and judicial officers, to file directly with the filing officer, instead of with their agency, within 30 days of reaching the behested payment threshold
- Authorize the use of electronic filing for reports filed by these officers, and clarify that an electronically filed report is an original report



Thank you.